322. Some Sad News

Our beloved father, Paul, sadly died on Friday, 1st September 2023, aged 74. He had cancer. It was just a few days after his last post on this blog, and he was delighted to have mustered the energy to do that.

Apart from the distant prospect of Manchester United winning the Premier League, or England the World Cup, he looked forward to nothing more than posting on this blog every fortnight. It is you, the readers of this blog and his books, that kept him motivated to keep going right until the very end.

As his five children, we would love to hear any tributes to our Dad and how his blog and other writings (and teachings) have helped people with the English language that we could use in his book of condolences and at his funeral. We are still working out how to use the site but it seems that we can see any comments that are submitted, even if they don’t appear to you.

Yours in grammar,

Alicia, Claire, Emily, John-Paul and Noelle.

12 thoughts on “322. Some Sad News

  1. May God his Creator remember only the great things he did for others.
    As a non-native speaker, I had many grammar questions no one could answer for me. How delightful it was to discover him in my mailbox, just waiting for me to answer my questions. Every lesson he taught since I found him is in there. Thank you, Paul, and Godspeed.
    Maria

  2. Very sorry to hear, my deepest condolences. “The silence of his keyboard will be shaped into the eternal influence of his writings who have helped so many. Thank you Paul for your unselfish and generous dedication. Rest in peace.”

    María, a thankful teacher

  3. Farewell, dear maestro. In the grand symphony of language, your melodies will resonate forever, echoing in the hearts and minds of every language lover fortunate enough to have crossed paths with your genius.

  4. Your dad was the best! He built a treasure trove of deep thoughts about all things grammatical. Tremendously valuable. Plus, so much good humor. I wish I had taken the opportunity to thank him while he was alive.

    All the best to your families.

  5. Dear readers
    I am Claire, one of Paul’s four daughters, and I appear beside my beloved dad in the photograph that my brother John-Paul has posted alongside our tribute to him. I believe my dad was a genius in his field. His ideas were original, and his blog was his gift to the world. There are too many wonderful memories of our long talks about his blog to list here. But it was a huge part of his everything. I will love you forever, dad.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.